Home > Amibian.js, Delphi, JavaScript, Object Pascal, Smart Mobile Studio > Admin woes on Delphi Developer

Admin woes on Delphi Developer

November 17, 2018 Leave a comment Go to comments

For well over 10 years I have been running different interest groups on Facebook. While Delphi Developer is without a doubt the one that receives most attention from myself and my fellow moderators, I also run the Quartex Components group and lately, Amiga Disrupt. The latter dedicated to my favorite hobby, namely retro computing.

I have to say, it’s getting harder to operate these groups under the current Facebook regime. I applaud them for implementing a moral codex, that is both fair and good, but that also means that their code must be able to distinguish between random acts of hate and bullying, and moderator operations.

A couple of days ago I posted an update picture from Amibian.js. This is a picture of my vmware development platform, with pascal code, node.js and the HTML5 desktop running. You would  have be completely ignorant of technology to not recognize the picture as having to do with software development.

amibian_shell

This picture was flagged as hateful, and was enough to get an admin’s account frozen for 30 days

Sadly facebook contains all sorts of people, and for some reason even grown men will get into strange, ideological debates about what constitutes retro-computing. In this case the user was a die-hard original-amiga fan, who on seeing my post about amibian.js went on a spectacular rant. Listing in alphabetical and chronological order, the depths of depravity that people have stooped to in implementing 68k as Javascript.

Well, I get 2-3 of these comments a week and the rules for the group is crystal clear: if you post comments like that, or comments that are racist, hateful or otherwise regarded as a provocative to the general group standard — you are given a single warning and then you are out.

So I gave him a warning that such comments are not welcome; He immediately came back with a even worse response – and that was the end of that.

But before I managed to kick the user, he reported a picture of Amibian as hateful. Again, we are talking about a screen-dump from VMWare with pascal code. No hate, no poor choice of images – nothing that would violate ordinary Facebook standards.

The result? Facebook has now frozen my account for 30 days (!)

Well I’m not even going to bother being upset, because this is not the first time. When people seem to willfully seek out conflict, only to use the FB’s reporting tools as weapons of revenge — well, there is not much I can do.

Anyways, Gunnar, Glenn, Peter and Dennis got you covered – and I’ll see you in a month. I think it’s time i contact FB in Oslo and establish separate management profiles.

  1. November 17, 2018 at 4:08 pm

    Absolutely ridiculous but I figure there is no ‘person’ you can even contact at Facebook about how stupid this is, only bots…

    • November 18, 2018 at 2:52 pm

      I have tried. They have an office in oslo, but no phone number. So i have to travel in there and ask WTH is going on

  2. Brian White
    November 18, 2018 at 9:35 am

    Just seen the thread from Gunnar now (Yeah nice going facebook, it pops up 11 hours later).

    We are asking who it was.

    Besides Facebook does not give a shit, its all bots that do that, All the facebook moderators (Real people) are all in counseling from watching the Isis videos on the site and being ‘Traumatized’.

    • November 18, 2018 at 2:51 pm

      I have no idea who it was. There was one guy that went apeshit on a picture i posted from Amibian.js, telling me i was a total ass-hat for ruining the Amiga by implementing 68k in javascript. I told him to stop it or be blocked. I came back an hour or so later and he had replied even more — he must have reported the picture during that time. I just kicked/blocked him on the spot. When the page refreshed I was shown a dialog that my account had been frozen for 30 days due to “hateful media” posts. And the Amibian.js picture came up — so i cant imagine that it was anyone else. He also PM’ed me a “fuck you asshole” message.

      Problem is that i get 2-3 of these per day, so I dont even notice them anymore. I think the nick started with a C, cark, cazer or something like that – but it was not a normal name. Probably a nick or avatar.

      Since i kicked/blocked him he is also removed from my history list (sigh), and since my account is blocked I cant un-block him either.. just completely screwed.

      Besides, I dont see what good would come of it. Facebook cant be communicated with, they have no phone-number, no representatives – nothing, so who would we tell?

  3. Peter Edwards
    November 18, 2018 at 2:03 pm

    Stunning !! You would sometimes ask the question, What’s the point in sharing ideas and offering help. Given the results of world conflicts over the centuries and even the way current Presidents use acts of government a weapon against other countries, is it any wonder that you find the same in social media. Its sad but its not a surprise. I admire your willingness to help and share and as you have noticed in some areas Im trying to do my bit to help others. Make sure you dont give up and certainly dont let the Negs get to you. As you said, its not worth the effort of getting upset. Maybe your course of action in extreme cases is simply to deal with the problem in such a way that ensures you maintain control … ie annex the problem without notice. A bit extreme but … Shields up captain !

    • November 18, 2018 at 2:45 pm

      Yeah its not the first time. I was super upset earlier, but now its .. yeah, not worth it. Besides, I have more than enough to work on so really dont have time to debate bullshittery with trolls on FB. Just a shame false accusations dont carry a penalty. But when there is not even a judge, everything goes i suppose

  4. howdyneighbors
    November 18, 2018 at 7:02 pm

    In general.

    In the GDR (German Democratic Republic) any negative criticism on the society model was called ‘hate speech’. So it’s no surprise to me that a team lead by a former STASI officer runs a team with the mission to delete/flag ‘hate speech’ comments.

    Forget about German and get to know Democracy.

    No idea what the guy wanted to achieve by flagging your picture as a inappropriate. Maybe because it shows a ‘beautiful’ women which is sexist. Not for me but the world communists our there.

    It makes no sense to bother with such idiots.

    • December 6, 2018 at 8:14 pm

      The picture is on the post above, and very little sexy nude women there

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment