Home > Delphi, Life, Object Pascal > Apparently I am the devil

Apparently I am the devil

October 27, 2016 Leave a comment Go to comments

This has been quite a week for me. Apparently my post on C# hit a nerve and I have so far gotten around 34 hate-mails. That’s a first even for me. I have been out a rainy day before as we say in Norway, but hate mail over programming? If facts hurt you that much then please seek professional help. With great haste I might add.

Jon is the devil

But the biggest shock was getting a phone-call today. From a friend of mine who runs a Delphi company. They have recently started to use Smart Mobile Studio for some light mobile clients, projects where Delphi would be overkill or to demanding.

A while back he hired a guy from the FPC / Lazarus team (both products that I love by the way!). When this coder, who shall remain anonymous, found out I was a personal friend on Facebook — he bloody went and quit his job!

Just way to go! Group-hug, starbucks on the house and pat on the back

Just way to go! Group-hug, starbucks on the house and pat on the back

Apparently he could not find it in his heart to work for a company that regarded me as a friend. Because, in his words, I was lucifer himself. Why? Because I pose (in this deranged individual’s mind) a threat to Freepascal and all the work they had done.

I’m not sure what to even respond to this. My natural instinct is to lay down on the floor and laugh until I cant feel my legs, but at the same time I feel a bit sad. Sad that grown men, adults, people who probably pretend to be role models for their kids, can even do shit like this.

That FPC forum again

The freepascal community is widely known as the most unfriendly community in the history of mankind, but this particular case really is the mother-load of insanity. We are bordering on fundamentalism here. You are one AK-47 away from being the first hands on pascal terrorist. With a manifest written in pascal of course. Death to the JavaScript infidels! Node.js must die! Did you see the fangs when Jon smiled? He’s a witch!

Sadly, my involvement with Freepascal and Lazarus is insignificant at best. But they dont like people who hit back when bullied, and this has festered into the conspiracy nutters they represent today.

I once had plans to help freepascal by writing an alternative IDE. Something roughly 100+ other developers also wanted by the way. I also helped out by submitting code to get special folders on Windows, Linux and Unix through a common set of functions. And that’s about the extent to my involvement with their codebase.

Quartex IDE uses both smsc and fpc as its compiler. I never finished it because the fpc guys were utter nutballs about it. But it works, and it works very well!

Quartex IDE uses both smsc and fpc as its compiler. I never finished it because the fpc guys were utter nutballs about it. But it works, and it works very well!

I also warned them, together with two others, both respected members of the Delphi community, that a popular fork of Lazarus was breaking every possible GPL rule known to mankind (!) — And I did this in order to protect Lazarus/fpc from getting caught in the middle of a potential lawsuit.

If protecting Lazarus from harm is a diabolical, hellish act of evil – then I guess am guilty as charged. And I would do it again because Freepascal and Lazarus deserves to be protected. It is a cornerstone of the pascal community.  It’s only so damn sad that many of its representatives (especially the self-proclaimed ones who couldn’t code a compiler if their life depended on it) practically molest and insult new users for no good reason. So much so that people avoid FPC and Lazarus because of it.

If you dont agree with me then you are evil! Bu frikkin hu!

I heard he said that she said that maybe he meant that .. oh for the love of god pick up the phone and get the facts!

But people quitting their job because I supposedly am Lucifer incarnate, that’s a new high. Or low, or whatever comes natural. Coming face to face with mental illness on this scale is new to me, so I need some time to digest this.

But dude, seek help. Professional help. Call your doctor and get a huge glass of Valium, take two pills and contemplate every possible meaning of the phrase “social refactoring“.

You need to set some serious break points in your reasoning. Because quitting your day job over a misunderstanding on a web-forum, that my friend is reason in ruin.

You see, if I was full of shit; If I produced crap code, or indeed – if my predictions and analysis of trends were wrong (which they rarely are) – then you could sink me quite easily. But when that is not the case, when in fact I write pretty good code, when I share my knowledge and help people the best I can, when I keep up to date and invest back in the community I love so much; then the situation is very different.

Mom! Jon made a basic compiler that emits object pascal! That is just evil!

Mom! Jon made a basic compiler that emits object pascal! That is just evil!

You will discover that I can bite back and be just as nasty as you. But I choose not to, because you don’t treat people like that. If growing up has a perk it’s that you understand the value of kindness and companionship, of community and helping each other.

So why not solve this like a civilized, normal human being? just ask. Give me a call, get the facts. Dont sit there like a 14-year-old girl and base your assumptions on rumors. If in doubt, just call me up and ask. Then we can put whatever misunderstanding there may be to rest. You might even discover that I’m actually a nice guy!

Now back to the Delphi community where people are friendly, positive, creative and easy going!

  1. October 27, 2016 at 4:16 pm

    Wow! This is unbelievable. Well done, keep it up. You’re doing a great job!

  2. October 27, 2016 at 4:24 pm

    Glad you are able to brush it off and laugh about it. If that person quit his job over that, then that company is much better without that person.

    • October 27, 2016 at 4:37 pm

      Cannot but feel sorry for the guy. His life must be pretty small if he singles out a person like this

  3. October 27, 2016 at 4:59 pm

    Sounds like an addition by subtraction. IOW, a bad team player is usually worse than no player at all. It just brings down the whole team. I’ve seen this happen more than once. Such a person wouldn’t last one whole day here at Google.

    • October 27, 2016 at 5:05 pm

      Always easier to blame someone else. Just off the map how they managed to charge me with “an object pascal civil war” and similar rubbish. Drama queen material.
      I cannot but watch this in amazement.

  4. aplikmuj
    October 27, 2016 at 7:28 pm

    That’s commitment and becoming victim of the insane ‘devilish’ idea of product ownership.

    • November 3, 2016 at 10:13 am

      Whatever it is, its not normal

      • aplikmuj
        November 4, 2016 at 4:48 pm

        It’s simply not sane. In the German language we do have 2 words for competition. Konkurrenz vs. Wettbewerb.

        The first ist about people in front of berry bush trying to get a bigger portion, the bigger berries, … (resources) that’s related to input.

        Wettbewerb ist related to output. The other side of the market stand. The goal is to improve all the offerings.

        The idea of the best product an ideal. In a sense of Mr. Schumpeter the inspired entrepreneur invents something new and is annoying people by knocking on every door. The goal is to create a monopoly around the most perfect product. In his theory others will start to present a different solution to the same problem. While all of the providers are competing every product will improve relative to each other. Which means that the overall market share of all products in summary grows vs. all the other products.

        Customers should not fight the battle of a vendor. Don’t try this. Mr. Schumpeter paid back his debts, but never really became a successful entrepreneur. His ‘genius’ lied in the simple idea that instead taking care about redistribution of wealth to simply invent something new. Something new will always be required whatever provision model is en vogue or whatever distribution model is currently being favored. Today this idea doesn’t sound radical, but 100 years ago when people didn’t know what to produce first …

        In the Agile world the supplier and customer relation is turned around in some roles. If you ever did have the impression that a project manager wants to sell you something rest assured they want to know the price. Software artefacts complexity measured in units called hours which are the money (value of money is the relation between the coins in peoples hands vs the amount of goods available). Same counts for the estimates in the Scrum process.

        I think people crowed around ‘Pascal’ should not think in terms of Konkurrenz rather they should put a focus on Wettbewerb.

  5. greenboat
    November 4, 2016 at 12:36 pm

    Maybe I should stay away from Free Pascal if this is the sort of behaviour the team exhibits.

    • November 4, 2016 at 3:00 pm

      I have just baked it down to using fpc and lazarus, but I will never again set foot on the forums.

    • November 4, 2016 at 5:42 pm

      Let’s not just pretend it’s FreePascal. I recently had someone on the Embarcadero forum freak out and demand that I never reply to any post they make, and that if they lived closer to me they would settle things with me ” in a more physical way” was, I believe, how they put it. I said nothing in the post to upset them – it didn’t even concern Delphi. They weren’t familiar with the “R” language so I explained in what fields it’s popular. The hostility started months ago actually on another forum when I posted a link to a benchmark that Delphi didn’t win. Now I am the enemy and every word I say must be denounced.

      Only one person chastised this person for his unprovoked tirade against me; another one actually DEFENDED it by saying, in a roundabout way, that there are “certain people” who say “certain things” on the forum and basically have it coming… essentially suggesting that if someone is ever critical of Delphi they deserve unprovoked abuse. I flagged the post with the threat of physical violence, but it was never removed.

      I’ve also had an MVP spend an evening following me around on Reddit insulting me and the same MVP bragged on Jolyon’s blog that he “loves trolling” bloggers who criticize Delphi. Even Nick Hodges quit posting on the EMBT forum, saying that it made people toxic.

      I don’t think the community is becoming more zealous and fanatical so much as the smaller it gets the more we notice the crazy people. It’s like “draining the swamp”. Regardless, Delphi has at least as much its share of people who lash out at anyone who disagrees with them and behave like children. It’s far from being the most friendly community I deal with – one of the smartest, but there are lots of partisan battles going on all the time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

